VST3 and VS2022 | VST3 and ASPiK | Forum

Avatar

Please consider registering
guest

sp_LogInOut Log In sp_Registration Register

Register | Lost password?
Advanced Search

— Forum Scope —




— Match —





— Forum Options —





Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters

sp_Feed Topic RSS sp_TopicIcon
VST3 and VS2022
Avatar
Member
Members
September 28, 2022 - 9:18 am
Member Since: September 15, 2015
Forum Posts: 22
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

I'm having a number of problems with VS2022 and ASPiK.  The VST3 SDK needs updating as 3.7.3 doesn't compile.  Updating to the latest VST3 (3.7.6) breaks cmake with ASPIK.  Trying to get hold of 3.7.5 to see if that fixes things.....

Any chance of you looking at updating ASPiK for VS2022?

 

cheers

Bruce

Avatar
Admin
September 28, 2022 - 10:02 am
Member Since: January 28, 2017
Forum Posts: 706
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Hi Bruce

I am currently in the middle of a big release for my new company's software and I can't work on ASPiK until the code freeze is done, which should be in a few days.

My CTO would kill me if he saw that I was releasing a new ASPiK (and RackAFX) on LinkedIn or Facebook while we are in the midst of this... 

I am hoping to have a few long days where I can get ASPiK caught up with the latest VST3 as well as VS2022 support soon. 

Will Pirkle

Avatar
Member
Members
September 28, 2022 - 10:28 am
Member Since: September 15, 2015
Forum Posts: 22
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks for the quick reply.  I've been investigating and have managed to get stuff to compile (further testing later).

The last VSTSDK I can get to work using cmake (without major changes) is 3.7.4.  This will work if the CMakeLists.txt is edited near the top to:

set(UNI_VST3_SDK_FOLDER VST_SDK/vst3sdk)

(although it's easier to rename the folder in the SDK to VST3_SDK so ASPiK kicks out a working cmake file out the box - why steinberg keep renaming folders between releases is really beyond me)

then, as reported at: https://forums.steinberg.net/t/pluginterfaces-lib-compilation-error-win-10-vs-2022/768976/4

if you run cmake using:

cmake -DSMTG_USE_STDATOMIC_H=OFF -G"Visual Studio 17 2022" ../

then a solution file will be created which fully builds and validates in MS2022

Good luck with your big release.  Who do you work for now?

cheers

Bruce

Forum Timezone: America/New_York

Most Users Ever Online: 294

Currently Online:
8 Guest(s)

Currently Browsing this Page:
1 Guest(s)

Top Posters:

Chaes: 56

Skyler: 48

StevieD: 46

Derek: 46

Frodson: 45

Peter: 43

TheSmile: 43

Nickolai: 43

clau_ste: 39

jeanlecode: 37

Member Stats:

Guest Posters: 2

Members: 795

Moderators: 1

Admins: 6

Forum Stats:

Groups: 13

Forums: 42

Topics: 862

Posts: 3400

Moderators: W Pirkle: 706