Please consider registering

sp_LogInOut Log In sp_Registration Register

Register | Lost password?
Advanced Search

— Forum Scope —

— Match —

— Forum Options —

Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters

sp_Feed Topic RSS sp_TopicIcon
Error message "9>LINK : fatal error LNK1104: cannot open file '(...)win_buildVST3DebugVolume_ClientGUI_U_VST.vst3'
Matt
Members
July 20, 2018 - 3:03 pm
Forum Posts: 8
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Hi all, hi Will!

First of all, thanks so much Will for all the marvellous stuff you're doing, the fantastic effort, and providing the tools and knowledge for free 🙂 Pure awesomeness!

I'm just starting out with RackAFX, and I run into the following problem when trying to build my VST-exported solution. In my build log, it says:

"(...)
9>LINK : fatal error LNK1104: cannot open file 'C:\Users\Matt\Documents\RackAFX\Projects\SDKs\myprojects\Volume_ClientGUI_U\win_build\VST3\Debug\Volume_ClientGUI_U_VST.vst3'
9>Done building project "Volume_ClientGUI_U_VST.vcxproj" -- FAILED.
10>------ Rebuild All started: Project: ALL_BUILD, Configuration: Debug x64 ------
10>Building Custom Rule C:/Users/Matt/Documents/RackAFX/Projects/SDKs/myprojects/Volume_ClientGUI_U/CMakeLists.txt
10>CMake does not need to re-run because C:/Users/Matt/Documents/RackAFX/Projects/SDKs/myprojects/Volume_ClientGUI_U/win_build/CMakeFiles/generate.stamp is up-to-date.
========== Rebuild All: 9 succeeded, 1 failed, 0 skipped =========="

Upon closer inspection of the "file" name, it turns out that C:\Users\Matt\Documents\RackAFX\Projects\SDKs\myprojects\Volume_ClientGUI_U\win_build\VST3\Debug\Volume_ClientGUI_U_VST.vst3 isn't a file, but a DIRECTORY, containing a "Contents" directory, which in turn contains a "Resources" directory, which is empty.

That's all I know.

Now, as a caveat: I have been a programmer for decades, but I am completely new to C++ as well as cmake and Visual Studio.

Is this something you can help me with?