Avatar

Please consider registering
Guest

sp_LogInOut Log In sp_Registration Register

Register | Lost password?
Advanced Search

— Forum Scope —




— Match —





— Forum Options —





Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters

sp_Feed sp_TopicIcon
RackAFX not remembering VS 2017 "devenv.exe" location
No permission to create posts
July 31, 2017
10:13 pm
Avatar
Kevin
Member
Members
Forum Posts: 13
Member Since:
July 31, 2017
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

I'm using Visual Studio 2017.

Every time I exit the preference menu I receive this message from RackAFX:

 

"RackAFX could not find the Visual Studio 2017 executable (named devenv.exe). Do you want to try and find it manually? Yes  No"

 

If I choose yes I can browse to it's location manually which seems to satisfy RackAFX temporarily until I try to go in and out of preferences again. 

Does anybody know how to teach RackAFX the location of the "devenv.exe" file once and for all so this quits happenning?

August 1, 2017
9:22 am
Avatar
W Pirkle
Admin
Forum Posts: 247
Member Since:
January 29, 2017
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

I will look into this - something changed with VS2017 (perhaps due to an OS update). Are you on Win8 or Win10?

- Will

August 1, 2017
10:07 am
Avatar
W Pirkle
Admin
Forum Posts: 247
Member Since:
January 29, 2017
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

For now the best option is to use VS2015 (also free).

August 2, 2017
1:00 am
Avatar
Kevin
Member
Members
Forum Posts: 13
Member Since:
July 31, 2017
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

That was it. All better. Thank you.

My system is Windows 7 64 bit SP1. It turns out I had both 2015, and 2017 installed. I just uninstalled 2017, then reinstalled VS2015. I don't know if it was necessary but I also uninstalled/reinstalled RackAFX.

August 8, 2017
11:21 am
Avatar
W Pirkle
Admin
Forum Posts: 247
Member Since:
January 29, 2017
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

OK I found the issue here and it will be fixed in the next update (soon). VS2017 is different from the other VS's regarding how it upgrades itself (you can easily wind up with multiple versions, especially if you used beta versions...).

- Will

April 10, 2018
2:00 am
Avatar
Brad
New Member
Members
Forum Posts: 1
Member Since:
April 10, 2018
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

I am having the same problem.  Cannot seem to download VS 2015 either (won't let me with my login).  Any other solution?

April 10, 2018
8:04 am
Avatar
W Pirkle
Admin
Forum Posts: 247
Member Since:
January 29, 2017
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Which version of RackAFX are you using? This was fixed in January 2018 so I am curious...

Also, this is new with VS2017 - previous versions, going all the way back to v6.0, wrote that information into the system registry so it was easy for RackAFX to find this path. With VS2017, Microsoft stopped writing this information (not sure why).

- Will

Forum Timezone: America/New_York

Most Users Ever Online: 36

Currently Online:
7 Guest(s)

Currently Browsing this Page:
1 Guest(s)

Top Posters:

Skyler: 48

Derek: 46

Peter: 41

Frodson: 40

clau_ste: 39

Gwen: 32

JimmyM: 30

TheSmile: 27

EZB: 24

lppier: 23

Member Stats:

Guest Posters: 1

Members: 522

Moderators: 1

Admins: 4

Forum Stats:

Groups: 11

Forums: 31

Topics: 545

Posts: 2134

Newest Members:

Bill, hill william, NAUN_SONAR, sufy, Diane, Richard, drvenkman, venkman, Jfx, drorh

Moderators: W Pirkle: 247

Administrators: Tom: 67, JD Young: 80, Will Pirkle: 0, W Pirkle: 247